Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 30th, 2007

Today the holder of a $62.8 million Powerball ticket stepped forward. The ticket was plucked (or at least that’s how I picture it – plucked, from a glass bowl) days ago. It took until today for the winner to come forward. Turns out he’s an auto mechanic from a small town in northern New Mexico. You can read about him at this link.

This post isn’t about winning the lottery; it’s actually a list of topics we might use to inspire our writing on red Ravine, today or tomorrow or later this year. Plucked out of a notebook or computer file somewhere. Just the ticket we’ll need to break through, chuck our day jobs, and become famous.

Or not.

They say people who become instant millionaires go on to have tragic post-lottery lives. Take Jack Whittaker who won $314 million (before taxes) or Mack Metcalf who with his wife won $34 million. Read about how their lives changed for the worse after they won the lottery.

Writing is hard work. There is no winning lottery ticket. Days like today I wish there were. Either that or I wish I weren’t so compelled to write. Today I’m anything but inspired.

And that’s why I’m here, writing this post. Making a list of topics I’m going to keep in mind for my writing practices in the coming weeks. Use them if you’re so inclined. Just remember, not a one of them is going to land you where you want to go. Only hard work and persistence – a dedicated practice – will get us there.

     1. The sound of water dripping

     2. Living in cities

     3. Old buildings

     4. The seasonal life of roses

     5. Toes and how they run in the family

     6. Hummingbirds

     7. The smell of skunk

     8. Barking dogs

     9. Inertia and why it strikes

     10. White noise

     11. What I would do with $63 million

     12. Superstition




-from Topic post, COFFEE BREAK

Read Full Post »

  1. why I like midnight
  2. my favorite times to write
  3. blue moons
  4. what it is about being the oldest child
  5. fresh air
  6. what I learned from my favorite teachers
  7. the Tao of Underdog
  8. why I don’t write pulp fiction
  9. everything I know about State Fairs
  10. the last concert I attended
  11. the first concert I attended
  12. the day I learned to drive
  13. who taught me to drive and why
  14. classes I loved
  15. classes I hated
  16. the first time I thought I might like to write
  17. favorite places to write as a child
  18. where I used to hide out
  19. how to get space in a family of eight
  20. what was I like in junior high
  21. my first crush
  22. the last time I played on a seesaw
  23. bottle rockets
  24. the best intentions
  25. why loss is forever
  26. why no one wants to accept that loss is forever
  27. life after healing
  28. states I’ve lived in
  29. my favorite coastal town
  30. my favorite coast
  31. the first time I flew
  32. the last time I flew
  33. when I was in New York
  34. driving country roads
  35. why I wanted to be the Lone Ranger
  36. what happened to Dale Evans
  37. people I know of who came from Texas
  38. ways to identify your suitcase on the luggage carousel
  39. how many miles I’ve flown
  40. favorite places to visit
  41. my favorite vacation
  42. the year I turned 30
  43. old address books
  44. where to find memories
  45. where to lose memories
  46. the last time I was at the ocean
  47. everything I know about body surfing
  48. the last time I played hide and seek
  49. people who have forgotten me
  50. people who have remembered me
  51. people I’ll never forget
  52. people I wish I could forget
  53. the last time I ironed
  54. what I know about spray starch
  55. the unforgiven
  56. the last time I played chess
  57. walking in the park at night
  58. French fries and milk shakes
  59. where I go for a good hamburger
  60. the last ride to the airport
  61. old hangouts
  62. the first time I learned to ride a bike
  63. the first time I roller skated
  64. my favorite bike
  65. what I love about motorcycle riding
  66. what I remember about nursery rhymes
  67. what scares me
  68. what makes me stronger
  69. my favorite snacks
  70. frozen yogurt
  71. when I buy toothpaste I
  72. makeup counters
  73. my favorite color lipstick
  74. what I know about Crackerjacks
  75. towns I’d like to forget
  76. the last roller coaster ride
  77. last time I took the bus
  78. folding chairs
  79. picnics I remember
  80. last fly in the soup
  81. green inchworms
  82. rose bushes
  83. gardens and gates
  84. what I love about travelling
  85. what I hate about travelling
  86. last time I tasted buttermilk
  87. famous cow names
  88. famous horse names
  89. stone fences
  90. green is the color I
  91. when I get angry I
  92. Barbie and Ken
  93. slow boats and fast trains
  94. the last musical I saw
  95. fresh fruit
  96. mad dashes
  97. what I find unforgettable
  98. what I find unforgivable
  99. the nature of spring
  100. summer in the city

– from Topic post, WRITING TOPIC – COFFEE BREAK

Read Full Post »

Breakfast at Amelia’s, May 30th, 2007, photo © 2007 by QuoinMonkey. All rights reserved.

Breakfast at Amelia’s, May 30th, 2007, photo © 2007 by QuoinMonkey. All rights reserved.


What could be better than fresh grits, hot from the stove (smothered in butter and cheese), scrambled eggs, crispy bacon, and French Roast? For lunch we had pimento cheese sandwiches, peanut butter pie, and sweet iced tea.

Breakfast, May 30th, 2007, photo © 2007 by QuoinMonkey. All rights reserved. For the family gathering tonight, my brother made banana pudding. My sister made a turtle cake. There will be Southern potato salad, macaroni and cheese, and a pineapple angel food cake.

That doesn’t even scratch the surface. Food is grounding. And in writing, it’s something you can really sink your teeth into. Food shapes more than the body. Food is about culture. I bet if you listed all the foods in your family history, there would be a story in every dish.

Mom doesn’t cook much anymore. But when I’m home, I get as much in the way of homestyle Southern cuisine as I can.

It’s just hard to find grits in the Midwest. And it’s even harder to find sweet tea almost anywhere but South.

Wednesday, May 30th, 2007

Read Full Post »

Puzzle Pieces, May 30th, 2007, photo © 2007 by QuoinMonkey. All rights reserved.

Puzzle Pieces, May 29th, 2007, photo © 2007 by QuoinMonkey. All rights reserved.


Arrived safely into Baltimore after an hour delay in the flight. I had the very last window seat on the left side of a plane filled with chatty middle school kids, a toddler, and a screaming baby one aisle over. I’m not complaining. I was happy to catch the flight. I practiced just sitting.

My mother and brother were there to meet me at the gate with open arms. They were a sight for sore eyes. After the hour and a half drive north, I walked back into the Pennsylvania home where I spent my teenage years, and the first thing I said was, “Smells like home!”

“Smells like home,” Mom repeated and kind of smiled as she hugged me and went through the daily mail. I’m tired tonight. Not much umphhh left. I bet you’ll find typos and rambling sentences in this post. But I wanted to get the aerials on the page.

What I realized is that the area around Baltimore is even more lush and green than Minnesota. You don’t get the patchwork quilt of fallow fields or the splat of glacial sky puddles. But you do get jigsaw forests and sea inlets, briny make up of a showdown between aquamarine salt and bluesy freshwater.


                  Bridge, May 30th, 2007, photo © 2007 by QuoinMonkey. All rights reserved. 

                  -Bridge, May 29th, 2007, photo © 2007 by QuoinMonkey.
                   All rights reserved.


And I think that’s the beginning of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge, though I don’t know for sure. I’ve driven it a few times on the way to Ocean City, Maryland with my family. But from the air, and with my spatial ineptitude, I could be staring at a foot trail through the Rockies, and I might not know it. I’m sure someone will correct me if I’m wrong. I wish I had shot this last one a few hundred feet forward. That’s when the bridge opened up to the huge expansiveness that it really is.

Alas, it’s time for bed. I’m downloading on dial-up and all my electronic gizmos, cords, and gadgets are spread out on the bed. It takes an arsenal to travel and capture the subtle nuances of the environment. Changes from day to day.

Already I’ve talked to my step-dad and we might make a journey to Tennessee to see the places where I spent some of my younger years. He said most of the houses are still standing. My brother said he’d fire up his GPSr so Mom and I might be able to do some geocaching in Georgia and South Carolina. Mom and I talked about Savannah over dinner at Rock-It Pizza & Subs down the way. And I tried to track down the address of my 8th grade English teacher, Mrs. Juarez.

Let the sleuthing begin. So far, so good. I’ve called many places home. But of all of them, this place smells the most like what I remember as home. The house noises are starting to resonate. My mother has lived here over 40 years. A long time. And at the same time, only the blink of an eye.


Wednesday, May 30th, 2007


– related to posts, View From The Sky and  Arriving Albuquerque From Seat 21A

Read Full Post »