Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 1st, 2007

Whenever I say “May Day, May Day,” I say it in that nasally voice that I associate with the robot on Lost In Space. Danger, Danger Will Robinson.

I didn’t realize today was a holiday. I mean, I don’t know anything about May Day. Is it a holiday because it’s the first of May? I feel silly not knowing. When I lived in Spain the first of May was a holiday, with a parade and all the families spilling out into the streets. The girls wore colorful skirts and danced. I don’t know why it was a holiday there, and maybe I remember the first of September or October, because now that I think about it I remember the parade happening shortly after I’d arrived. I felt lonely seeing all those Spanish families with grandmas and babies in strollers. I felt alone, which I was. But still, I’m almost sure there was something festive about the first of May in Spain.

I’m festive today, as my computer arrived. It’s a XPS M1210. The screen is gorgeous. I wonder how long it will take before I leave smudges on it. I looked up all the reviews and from what I can tell, this is a nice model. The keyboard is normal size, but the system overall is small. Four-something pounds. Not as sleek as my baby Inspiron, but I like this one better. It’s more solid. The hinges don’t look like they might break off any day. It’s black on the outside, silver on the inside. I told Jim I can’t give it to Dee now that I see it. I don’t think I’ll want another new computer, this one is so nice. Just wait and see, he said. Maybe I’ll still give it to her.

First of May and it’s raining. Unusual weather for these parts. Or, I should say, it used to rain a lot when I was a kid. Then we had years of drought, and now the rain again. It’s good that it’s raining. We haven’t irrigated the new property yet. If it weren’t for the rain, that place would be drying up. Everything is falling into place over there. We should move within two weeks. The heating guy replaced the boiler yesterday. It was an old huge thing, the kind of radiator I imagine you see in church rectories or small schools. And the tile guy washed off the years of wax build-up on the quarry tile floors. The wood floor guy does his work on Thursday. Then this weekend we can begin moving furniture and rugs inside the house. So far we’ve only moved stuff we can store outside, like bicycles and garage things. We, I say. Jim’s the one doing all the moving work so far.

May Day and May showers will bring June flowers. We’re always a bit late in New Mexico. My tulips have bloomed. One set, the tomato red, have already gone away. The ruffle-edged orange ones will die out by this weekend, I bet. Time’s up.

Read Full Post »

Twin Bing, May 1, 2007, photo by QuoinMonkey, all rights reservedCandy Collage on Wood, May 1, 2007, photo by QuoinMonkey, all rights reservedCandy Collage on White, May 1, 2007, photo by QuoinMonkey, all rights reserved
GooGoo Cluster, May 1, 2007, photo by QuoinMonkey, all rights reservedCandy Collage, May 1, 2007, photo by QuoinMonkey, all rights reservedValomilk, May 1, 2007, photo by QuoinMonkey, all rights reserved
Candy Collage on Glass, May 1, 2007, photo by QuoinMonkey, all rights reservedCandy Collage with Stripes, May 1, 2007, photo by QuoinMonkey, all rights reservedIdaho Spud, May 1, 2007, photo by QuoinMonkey, all rights reserved

-Homage to a Candy Freak, May 1, 2007, photos by QuoinMonkey,
all rights reserved


Twin Bing, Nutty Chocolaty Cherry Treat!
Palmer Candy Company, Sioux City, Iowa

Owyhee, Idaho Spud, The Candy Bar That Makes Idaho Famous
Idaho Candy Company, Boise, Idaho

Sifers Valomilk, The Original “Flowing Center” Candy Cups
Russell Sifers Candy Company, Merriam, Kansas

GooGoo Cluster, Milk Chocolate, Peanuts, Caramel & Marshmallow
An American Tradition Since 1912

Standard Candy Company, Nashville, Tennessee


-from Topic post, Candy Freak

-3:am Magazine – Portrait of the Artist as a Candy Freak, interview with Steve Almond by Amy Cox Williams

Tuesday, May 1st, 2007

Read Full Post »

smarties-in-bulk-from-wwwsmartiescom-website.jpgsmarties-in-bulk-from-wwwsmartiescom-website.jpgsmarties-in-bulk-from-wwwsmartiescom-website.jpgsmarties-in-bulk-from-wwwsmartiescom-website.jpg


small powder tablet
disintegrates in my mouth
as i bite down

pale pink yellow orange
you are the colors of spring
on a glaring hot day

have you ever thought
smarties are the breakfast food
of champions and young girls

both are sugar discs
yet not even third cousins
smarties and sweetarts

i eat one by one
until bumps rise on my tongue
i’ve gone too far

smart little candy
sugary synapses pop
making me brilliant


Learn more about Smarties here.
-from Topic Post: Candy Freak

Read Full Post »